Sunday, June 23, 2024

Turkey suspends diplomatic visa exemption agreement with Afghanistan

Immigration News

Fidel Rahmati
Fidel Rahmati
Fidai Rahmati is the editor and content writer for Khaama Press. You may follow him at Twitter @FidelRahmati

The Turkish presidency announced in a statement that the diplomatic visa exemption agreement between Turkey and Afghanistan has been revoked.

According to the statement from the Turkish Presidency, published on Wednesday, May 28th, this decision, signed by Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdoğan, will be implemented starting from June 1.

The decree signed by the Turkish president states: “The agreement between the Republic of Turkey and the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan on the mutual exemption from visa obligations for holders of diplomatic passports, signed on September 29, 2007, and implemented by the Council of Ministers’ decision on January 8, 2008, will be terminated as of June 1.”

With the revocation of this agreement, Turkish and Taliban officials will now have to undergo the visa application process for mutual entry into Afghanistan and Turkey.

Turkey made this decision based on Article 3 of Presidential Decree No. 9, which outlines the President’s authority regarding the approval of international agreements.

Turkey has not yet recognized the Taliban officially, but several Taliban officials have visited Turkey at the government’s official invitation, and Turkey has accepted several Taliban diplomats.

Since the Taliban took over, their government remains unrecognized by the international community. However, several regional countries maintain unofficial ties with the Taliban administration.

Countries including Iran, Pakistan, Turkey, China, and Russia have unofficial connections with the Taliban, despite the lack of formal recognition.

- Advertisement -

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
Captcha verification failed!
CAPTCHA user score failed. Please contact us!

- Advertisement -

The World News