Sunday, June 23, 2024

Taliban Says Their Government Is “Undismayed” by the Rescission of Afghanistan’s Designation as a Major Non-NATO Ally

Immigration News

Saqalain Eqbal
Saqalain Eqbal
Saqalain Eqbal is an Online Editor for Khaama Press. He is a Law graduate from The American University of Afghanistan (AUAF).

In reaction to the US decision to withdraw Afghanistan’s designation as a major non-NATO ally, Taliban spokesman Zabihullah Mujahid stated that the Taliban’s administration is “undismayed.”

US President Joe Biden officially announced his intention to withdraw Afghanistan’s designation as a major non-NATO ally in a letter to Congress on July 6.

President Biden’s decision to rescind Afghanistan’s designation in NATO was met with a tweetstorm in which Zabihullah Mujahid reacted that Afghanistan never “benefited” from the designation in the first place.

In 2012, the United States recognized Afghanistan as a major non-NATO ally, laying the foundation for the two countries to maintain their defense and trade ties.

The Taliban official also reiterated that the Taliban’s government seeks “dependable” and “positive” diplomatic and trade relations with the countries.

Contrary to the US’s NATO allies, who are bound together by a collective defense pact, a non-NATO ally is not protected by a mutual defense guarantee.

With the exclusion of Afghanistan, the United States will have a total of 18 major non-NATO allies, including Australia, Argentina, the Philippines, South Korea, New Zealand, Pakistan, Columbia, Qatar, Thailand, Tunisia, Morocco, Bahrain, Brazil, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Japan, and Kuwait.

- Advertisement -

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
Captcha verification failed!
CAPTCHA user score failed. Please contact us!

- Advertisement -

The World News