The two Russian diplomats who died in the recent embassy bombing were awarded badges of courage by the Russian embassy in Kabul, “recognizing their bravery and dedication in performing their duties.”

The Russian embassy in Kabul, the capital of Afghanistan, has given its diplomats the nation’s courage badge, following a decree issued by the country’s president, Vladimir Putin.

According to a tweet sent out on Thursday, September 15, the second secretary of the embassy and another member of the Russian staff who died in the recent attack on the Russian embassy in Kabul have each been awarded a medal of bravery by the Russian president.

Several people were killed in an ISIS explosion that happened outside the Russian embassy in Kabul on September 5 of this year, including two of the embassy’s staff.

Following the deadly attack, the Russian embassy on Tuesday, September 13, announced that the embassy has suspended all consular services and visa issuance until further notice, as strict security measures are put in place for the embassy.

Per a statement from the Russian embassy, Russian citizens living in Afghanistan are also advised to call the consular support line in case of an emergency.


  • Saqalain Eqbal is an Online Editor for Khaama Press. He is a Law graduate from The American University of Afghanistan (AUAF).