Home World Asia Norway, Spain, Ireland join 140 nations in recognizing Palestinian state

Norway, Spain, Ireland join 140 nations in recognizing Palestinian state


With Ireland, Spain, and Norway’s declarations, the number of countries officially recognizing Palestine has surpassed 140.

On Wednesday, Ireland, Spain, and Norway announced in a coordinated move that they recognize Palestine as an independent country.

Simon Harris, the Irish Prime Minister, described this move as a historic and significant day for both Ireland and Palestine.

Currently, over 140 countries out of the 193 United Nations member states recognize Palestine.

The United Nations General Assembly recognized Palestine in November 2012.

Since then, the United Nations General Assembly has granted Palestine new rights, including the right to participate in committees and make proposals, but it has not granted it the right to vote.

Before joining the European Union, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Romania, Slovakia, Cyprus, Poland, and Slovenia recognized Palestine. Sweden, a member of this union, also recognizes Palestine.

Several other European Union members, including Slovenia and Malta, have announced their intention to recognize Palestine.

Meanwhile, ten G20 member countries, such as Argentina, Brazil, China, India, Indonesia, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, and Turkey, recognize Palestine.

However, nine member countries of this organization, including Britain, the United States, Australia, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, and South Korea, do not recognize Palestine.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here