The newly elected members of the election commissions were sworn in during a ceremony which was attended by President Mohammad Ashraf Ghani and other senior governmental officials.

Presidential advisor for cultural affairs Asadullah Khalid read a presidential decree regarding the appointment of secretariat chiefs of election commissions and election commissioners.

The Office of the President said Syed Esmatullah Mal, Mawlana Mohammad Obaidullah, Aurangzeb, Mohammad Hanif Danishyar, Musafir Qoqandi, Hawa Alam Nuristani, and Rahima Zarifi were sworn in as new members of the Independent Election Commission.

Mohammad Qasim Elyasi, Zohra Bayan Shenwari, Mawlavi Din Mohammad Azimi, Mohammad Younus Toghra, and Syed Qutbuddin were sworn in as new memebrs of the Independent Electoral Complaints Commission.

In the meantime, Habib Ur Rahman Nang was sworn in as the secretariat Chief of the Independent Election Commission and Chaman Shah Etimadi was sworn in as the secretariat chief of Independent Electoral Complaints Commission.

The election commissioners were elected by 18 presidential candidates during a voting session which was organized on Friday.