A new location-sharing feature in the Google Maps app will alert you to the whereabouts of people who already share their location with you.

Google Maps’ new location-sharing feature takes some of the guesswork out of wondering when everyone will arrive by notifying you when a friend or family member has shown up or left a place, as long as they’re already sharing their location with you.

This can be useful if you’ve got a teenager heading out of town or if you’d like to let a friend know that you’ve made it to your meetup spot.

Once the new feature is available in the Google Maps app on your iPhone or Android, select your profile icon and tap Location Sharing. Choose the person you’d like to request location notifications from the list — note that they already need to be sharing their location with you.

Next, select Add to add an address to get updates from your friend. You’ll next choose a designated location, as well as when to be notified (arriving or leaving) and then tap Save

The person you’ve requested location notifications from will get an alert that you’ve added the location. Once that person leaves or arrives at the specified spot, you’ll be notified. For instance, if your friend has arrived to meet you at a campground, you’ll be alerted and can be on the lookout for them.

The person will also receive multiple reminders to let them know they’re sharing their location notifications, including a push notification in the Maps app and an email, along with recurring monthly emails.

Author