Friday, July 19, 2024

Narendra Modi takes oath for third term as India’s Prime Minister

Immigration News

Fidel Rahmati
Fidel Rahmati
Fidai Rahmati is the editor and content writer for Khaama Press. You may follow him at Twitter @FidelRahmati

Narendra Modi made history today by taking the oath of office for a third consecutive term as Prime Minister, matching the record set by India’s first Prime Minister, Jawaharlal Nehru, for three electoral victories.

Modi’s Hindu nationalist Bharatiya Janata Party has ruled over India for the past decade, but this time, it couldn’t secure a majority victory as in the previous two terms. Instead, it formed a coalition government with the National Democratic Alliance, a 15-party alliance.

Modi’s office announced that he would select 71 cabinet members, including 11 from the National Democratic Alliance, but specifics have yet to be disclosed.

However, Indian media reports suggest that key ministries such as Home, External Affairs, Finance, and Defense will remain with Modi’s party.

Leaders from neighboring countries like Bangladesh, Maldives, and Sri Lanka also participated in the ceremony, while rival neighbors China and Pakistan were absent.

Famous figures from India’s cinema and business sectors, such as Shah Rukh Khan, Gautam Adani, and Mukesh Ambani, also attended the event.

The new team, headed by the Prime Minister, comprises 30 Cabinet Ministers, 5 Ministers of State with Independent Charge, and 36 Ministers of State, reflecting a diverse leadership for governing India.

Despite falling short of a majority in the lower house with 240 seats, PM Modi’s party, BJP, along with allies from the National Democratic Alliance (NDA), secured a total of 293 seats, surpassing the 272-majority mark required for effective governance.

- Advertisement -

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
Captcha verification failed!
CAPTCHA user score failed. Please contact us!

- Advertisement -

The World News