Members of the Independent Commission for Combating Corruption swore allegiance at a ceremony held at the Presidential Palace in the presence of the President on Sunday.

A statement from the Presidential Palace said Humayun Hamid, Maryam Zurmati, and Abdul Qayyum Nizami had pledged allegiance for six years and Syed Mohammad Hashimi and Farrukh Laqa swore allegiance and will remain as members of the Anti-Corruption Commission for three years.

Speaking at the ceremony, President Ghani congratulated the members of the Anti-Corruption Commission and wished them success on appointment and enforcement of anti-corruption laws in the country.

The statement states President Ghani saying: Basically, you have to create a monitoring system that chooses a which model and implement it, so that the people of Afghanistan know-how monitoring is done.

“Hope this system meets the aspirations of the Afghan people. Wherever there is corruption, it must be exposed and explained to the people and you must have absolute confidence in the support of the Republic,” he added

This comes days after the president set up a five-member anti-corruption commission aimed at curbing corruption in the country’s governmental institutions, departments, and agencies.


  • Mohammad Haroon Alim holds a BBA degree from Kardan University. He works as a sub-editor for Khaama Press.