Thursday, February 22, 2024

Karzai appoints new members for independent election commission

Immigration News

Ahmad Shah Ghanizada
Ahmad Shah Ghanizada
Ahmadshah Ghanizada is the deputy editor in chief for The Khaama Press Agency who manages and overlooks the English edition.

v01_3655E05DCAA6D690FAAF814E01FFDF52Afghan president Hamid Karzai on Monday appointed new members for the independent election commission of Afghanistan.

A spokesman for the secretariat of the ministers council, Rafi Ferdous said the new appointments by president for the independent election commission include Abdul Rahman Hotaki, Gulalai Achekzai, Sharifa Zurmati, Ahmad Yousuf Nuristani, Sarir Barmak, Laila Ahrari, Aziz Bakhtiari, Mohammad Hussain Garzewani and Sulaiman Hamid.

Mohammad Hussain Garzewani is the only member who has previously worked in independent election commission of Afghanistan, and was it’s member.

Members of the independent election commission is appointed by Afghan president for a period of six years, and head of the commission and secretariat is selected by the 9 members of independent election commission.

President Hamid Karzai appointed the nine new members for independent election commission from the list of 27 individuals who were introduced by selection committee, which is comprised of five senior government officials including Abdul Salam Azimi, head of the Supreme court, Abdul Rauf Ibrahimi, Afghan house speaker, Afghan senate house chief Fazal Hadi Muslimyar, head of Afghan constitution supervision committee Gul-ul-Rahman Qazi, and head of the independent human rights commission Seema Samar.

- Advertisement -

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
Captcha verification failed!
CAPTCHA user score failed. Please contact us!

- Advertisement -

The World News