Friday, July 19, 2024

Iran announces six approved candidates for June 28 Presidential elections

Immigration News

Fidel Rahmati
Fidel Rahmati
Fidai Rahmati is the editor and content writer for Khaama Press. You may follow him at Twitter @FidelRahmati

The list of qualified candidates for the Iranian presidential election was announced on Sunday, June 9. The Guardian Council confirmed the eligibility of six candidates: Mostafa Pourmohammadi, Massoud Pezeshkian, Amirhossein Ghazizadeh, Alireza Zakani, Saeed Jalili, and Mohammad Baqer Qalibaf.

Consequently, some of the most prominent figures who had contested these elections faced disqualification by the Guardian Council.

Mahmoud Ahmadinejad, Ali Larijani, Eshaq Jahangiri, Mehrdad Bazrpash, Vahid Haghanian, and Mohammad Mehdi Esmaeili are among the disqualified candidates.

Immediately after registration, Larijani launched his campaign, primarily focusing on virtual platforms and offering predominantly economic promises until the results are announced.

He was unable to pass the Guardian Council’s scrutiny in the previous elections as well. It seems that despite his former status as one of the most influential figures in the core of power, with positions such as the Secretary of the Supreme National Security Council and the Speaker of the Parliament, his disqualification will further marginalize him in politics.

This is the second time Mahmoud Ahmadinejad has been deprived of participation in the presidential elections by the negative opinion of the Guardian Council. After registering for the elections, he promised significant changes in Iran’s near future without referring to any specific events.

Elections are scheduled for June 28 following the tragic death of President Ebrahim Raisi in a helicopter crash on May 19.

Qalibaf, the 62-year-old head of parliament and a former military commander, is considered a leading candidate. Supreme Leader Ayatollah Ali Khamenei’s recent speech appeared to indicate his backing for Qalibaf, according to analysts.

Additionally, the council has endorsed the candidacies of lawmaker Pezeshkian, former nuclear negotiator Jalili, Tehran Mayor Zakani, conservative deputy Ghazizadeh, and former interior and justice minister Pourmohammadi.

- Advertisement -

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
Captcha verification failed!
CAPTCHA user score failed. Please contact us!

- Advertisement -

The World News