Mumbai Indian players After winning the IPL in Dubai

Mumbai Indians secured their fifth Indian premier league title by a five wicket win in the finals on Tuesday.

Delhi Capitals set a 157 runs goal, on which Mumbai Indians chased hard with eight balls to spare, captain Rohit Sharma scored a breezy 68 points.

Rohit and Quinton de Kock plundered 45 from the first four overs, Delhi capitals needed a strong start but were reeling at 22-3 instead in the fourth over.

 Shreyar lyera and Rishabh Pant rescued Delhi with a 96-run partnership, Mumbai seized the momentum after Pant’s wicket that restricted DC to 156/7.

Ishan Kishan came out with all guns firing in the chase, with his big shots towards the end won by 5 wickets with 1.2 overs to spare.

Rohit Sharma said, “I’m pretty happy with how things went” he added “We said at the beginning we want to make winning a habit for us and guys were excellent throughout the tournament. We couldn’t have asked much more. We never looked back.”

IPL was originally scheduled to begin on March 29, but was shifted to UAE following COVID-19 outbreak in India. 

“We know it’s a difficult time, everyone is stuck at home,” Jasprit Bumrah said.

He added, “We’re lucky that we could come and entertain people. If we could bring smiles to their faces, it’s the best thing we could do.” 

The match ended with 156/7 innings to Delhi capitals, and the Mumbai Indian held to their title by 5 wickets and 157/5 innings.

Meanwhile, Hazratullah Zazai Afghanistan’s batsman breaks into TOP 10 ICC T20I batsmen.


  • Mohammad Haroon Alim holds a BBA degree from Kardan University. He works as a sub-editor for Khaama Press.