The Independent Election Commission of Afghanistan (IEC) on Monday announced the preliminary poll results regarding the parliamentary elections conducted in Kabul nearly three months ago.

According to the announced by IEC, 33 candidates including 24 men and 9 women have made it into the Lower House of the Parliament, Wolesi Jirga, from Kabul during the October 20 parliamentary polls.

The candidates who have secured the most votes as per IEC are Haji Ajmal Rahmani, Qayoum Khairkhwa, Fida Mohammad Ulfat Saleh, Javid Jaihoon, Khan Aqa Rezaie, Ramazan Bashardost, Amir Gul Shaheen, Ghulam Hussain Naseri, Mullah Mohammad Khan Ahmadi, Allah Gul Mujahid, Mir Amanullah Gozar, Syed Mohammad Mohammadi, Khan Mohammad Wardak, Qazi Mir Afghan Safi, Ajmal Gulab, Zia Azimi Shinozada, Obaidullah Kalimzai, Tawfiq Wahdat, Hafizullah Jalili, Farhad Seddiqi, Anwar Khan Oryakhel, Haji Zergai Habibi, Habib Al Rahman Sayyaf, Najibullah Nasir, Fatima Nazari, Mursal Nabizada, Shinkai Karokhail, Robina Jalali, Mariam Sama, Salima Nikbin, Zahra Noorzai, Gen Nazifa Zaki and Fawzia Nasiryar Guldarayi.

The October 20 Parliamentary Elections is said to be one of the most controversial elections in the country with the observers and experts slamming the Independent Election Commission for their failure in properly administering the polling process and the supporters of several candidates failed to cast their votes despite waiting behind the polling stations for several hours.

The Independent Electoral Complaints Commission had earlier said that the results could change considerably once the commission completes the review of the complaints filed.