India has prohibited the travel of passengers from Afghanistan and two other countries in a bid to prevent the spread of coronavirus disease.

“Travel of passengers from Afghanistan, Philippines, Malaysia to India is prohibited with immediate effect. No flight shall take off from these countries to India after 1500 hours Indian Standard Time (IST),” according to an official statement released by government of India.

The statement further added “This instruction is a temporary measure and shall be in force till 31st March 2020 and will be reviewed subsequently.”

The Ministry of Health of India has confirmed that the authorities have recorded 103 positive cases of coronavirus across the country which includes 22 foreign nationals.

The coronavirus has so far killed two people in Delhi and Karnataka States, the Ministry of Health of India added.


  • Khaama Press

    The Khaama Press News Agency is the leading and largest English news service for Afghanistan with over 3 million hits a month. Independent authors/columnists and experts are welcomed to contribute stories, opinions and editorials. Send stories to