President Mohammad Ashraf Ghani has appointed new governors for five provinces of Afghanistan, the Independent Directorate of the Local Governance (IDLG) said.

According to IDLG, President Ghani issued a decree appointing governors for Khost, Laghman, Nuristan, Baghlan and Samangan provinces.

Based on President Ghani’s decree, Mohammad Sadiq Patman has been appointed as governor of Khost, Abdul Ghafoor Malikzai as governor of Nuristan, Rahmatullah Yarmal as governor of Laghman, Taj Mohammad Jahid as governor of Baghlan and Mohammad Dawood Kalakani as governor of Samangan.

Meanwhile, reports indicate that President Ghani has appointed Mohmmad Omar Daudzai as his special envoy for Pakistan.

The new appointments take place as the government has not introduced the members of the cabinet so far.


  • The Khaama Press News Agency is the leading and largest English news service for Afghanistan with over 3 million hits a month. Independent authors/columnists and experts are welcome to contribute stories, opinions and editorials. Send stories to [email protected]