Rangers suffered a penalty shootout defeat in their fifth European final as Eintracht Frankfurt crowned champions of Europa League.

Eintracht Frankfurt beat Rangers 5-4 on penalties to win the Europa League after Wednesday’s final in Seville finished 1-1 at the end of extra time.

Colombian striker Rafael Borre scored the winning penalty for Frankfurt in the shoot-out after Rangers’ Aaron Ramsey had earlier seen his kick saved by Kevin Trapp.

Borre had cancelled out Joe Aribo’s opener in normal time and no more goals were added in the extra period before Eintracht won their first European trophy since the 1980 UEFA Cup.

Rafael Borre crashed in the decisive spot kick after Aaron Ramsey was denied just moments earlier in front of a colossal Rangers support in the Ramon Sanchez Pizjuan Stadium.

Those fans had been euphoric when the Scots took the lead through Joe Aribo’s ice-cool second-half finish in the sweltering cauldron in Seville.

However, Borre detonated raucous scenes in a jam-packed Eintracht end 12 minutes later as he steered in a soft equaliser to send this energy-sapping contest to extra time and penalties.

And Rangers’ players crumpled to their feet as the 11th-placed side in the Bundesliga prevailed in the shootout, executing five composed penalties to claim their second European trophy and a place in next season’s Champions League group stages.