Afghanistan electoral reform commissionThe Electoral System Reform Commission formally started work on Wednesday in the presence of Chief Executive Officer Dr. Abdullah Abdullah.

Abdullah said he is hopeful that the commission will continue to its work in a proper and transparent way.

In the meantime, the head of the reform commission Sultan Shah Akefi said he remains committed to lead the commission in consideration with the national interests of the country.

President Mohammad Ashraf Ghani recently appointed 14 members of the Electoral System Reform Commission which includes the commission’s chief.

A presidential decree was issued on Thursday to confirm the appointment of the new members of Electoral System Reform Commission.

As per the decree, Sultan Shah Akefi has been appointed Electoral System Reform Commission Chief and Sediqullah Tawhidi as deputy chief of the commission.

The members of the commission include Kawoon Kakar, Mohammad Ali Amiri, Abdul Qadir Karyab, Bashir Farooq, Asadullah Sadati, Faizullah Zaki, Saleh Mohammad Registani, Shah Mahmood Mia Khel, Sabrina Saqib, Dr. Alima.

Abdul Majid Ghanizada, representative of the Ministry of Justice and Tadamichi Yamamoto, representative of the United Nations in Afghanistan have also been appointed as members of the commission.

According to the Presidential Palace, the commission has been formed to bring reforms in electoral system, institutionalization of electoral system, to hold free, fair and transparent election, support democratic system and prevent violations and frauds in elections.

Electoral reform was one of the main conditions of the agreement of the government of national unity.


  • The Khaama Press News Agency is the leading and largest English news service for Afghanistan with over 3 million hits a month. Independent authors/columnists and experts are welcome to contribute stories, opinions and editorials. Send stories to [email protected]