Sunday, July 14, 2024

Belarus joins Shanghai Cooperation Organization

Immigration News

Fidel Rahmati
Fidel Rahmati
Fidai Rahmati is the editor and content writer for Khaama Press. You may follow him at Twitter @FidelRahmati

On Thursday, June 4th, leaders from Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) member countries signed Belarus’ membership document.

According to reports, Belarus is now recognized as the tenth member of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization.

Sergey Lavrov, the Foreign Minister of Russia, stated during the signing of Belarus’ membership document in the SCO: “Moscow is interested in the participation of the Union State of Russia and Belarus in all international processes.”

The Shanghai Cooperation Organization was founded in 2001 by leaders of China, Russia, Kazakhstan, Tajikistan, Kyrgyzstan, and Uzbekistan, and in 2017, India and Pakistan joined as members. Iran became a member of this organization in 2022.

This organization is part of efforts to establish a “multilateral” global order that is not under the dominance of the United States. Alongside the BRICS group, it is known as one of the anti-Western organizations seeking to increase its consensus by attracting new members.

The Shanghai Cooperation Organization unites countries with a combined population of approximately 3.5 billion people.

The SCO aims to enhance regional security, economic cooperation, and cultural exchanges among member states, promoting stability and development across Eurasia.

    - Advertisement -

    More articles


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here
    Captcha verification failed!
    CAPTCHA user score failed. Please contact us!

    - Advertisement -

    The World News