Mohammad Ashraf Ghani, the current president of the country officially registered to run for president during the upcoming presidential elections which are scheduled for 20th of July.

Amrullah Saleh, the former minister of interior and current second vice president Mohammad Sarwar Danish also registered their names with the Independent Election Commission this afternoon to run with Ghani for the First and Second Vice President seats.

In his speech to the media after completion of registration process, Ghani promised to work towards peace and bring stability in the country, emphasizing that his team would strive for peace but would never beg it from the others.

He also added that his team would remain committed that no deal would be made to compromise with the dignity of the nation and the Afghan national defense and security forces.

Ghani said the first peace offer to the militants was made by him and he would be ready to lay his life for peace.             

Good governance, maintaining international relations based on national benefits, and reforms were among the other priorities which Ghani vowed that his team would strive for.

He also instructed the national security forces to step up efforts to provide security to the presidential candidates.

Fourteen candidates have registered their names for the presidential elections including Hakim Torsan, Latif Pedram, Faramuz Tamana, Enayatullah Hafiz, Mohammad Hanif Atmar, Zalmai Rasool, Noor Ul Haq Ulomi, Gulbudddin Hekmatyar, Ahmad Wali Massoud, Syed Noorullah Jalili, former NDS Chief Rahmatullah Nabil, Abdullah Abdullah, and Mohammad Ashraf Ghani.