Armenia and Azerbaijan signed a ceasefire agreement to end the war on Nagorno-Karabakh, Russian peacekeepers are deployed in the disputed Caucasus territory following six weeks of battle.

Nearly 2000 Russian peacekeeping forces were deployed in the disputed region after a ceasefire deal was agreed upon overnight that allows Azerbaijan to hold on to its territory.

Washington Post reports, Turkish peacekeepers will also be deployed according to President Ilham Aliyev under the trilateral deal between Russia, Azerbaijan, and Armenia.

But Russia’s foreign ministry said only Russian peacekeepers would be present in Nagorno-Karabakh.

Thousands had been killed and displaced following the six weeks of the battle over the problematic region, as Nagorno-Karabakh is internationally recognized to be part of Azerbaijan.

Ethnic Armenians cover the majority of the population and are backed by the Yerevan (capital of Armenia) administration.

The deal also guarantees a land corridor linking Nagorno-Karabakh to Armenia, which will be monitored by Russian peacekeepers, as well as a staggered withdrawal of Armenian forces from Azeri districts surrounding the enclave.

Almost 5,000 people are reported dead from both sides of the battling parties in between six weeks of the clashes.   


  • Mohammad Haroon Alim holds a BBA degree from Kardan University. He works as a sub-editor for Khaama Press.