Courtesy Photo International Cricket Council

The Afghanistan National Cricket Team secured its first Test Match victory by defeating Ireland by 7 wickets on Monday.

The Test Match between Afghanistan and Ireland kicked off in Dehradun of India on 15th March. Ireland decided to bat first by winning the toss but managed to score 172 runs by losing all their wickets during their first inning.

Yamin Ahmadzai and Mohammad Nabi took 3 wickets each while Rashid Khan and Waqar Salamkheil took 2 wickets each.

The Afghan team managed to score 314 runs by losing all their wickets in 106 overs with Rahmat Shah scoring 98 runs, Hashmatulalh Shahidi 61 runs, Asghar Afghan 67 runs, and Mohammad Shahzad 40 runs.

The Ireland managed to score 288 runs from 93 overs during their second inning with Rashid Khan taking 5 wickets, Yamin Ahmadzai 3 wicktes, and Waqar Salamkheil 2 wickets.

The Afghan team managed to chase the difference or lead of 147 runs during their second batting inning by losing 3 wickets.