The Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB) on Sunday announced the national team squad for the Asia Cup 2018.

According to a statement released by ACB, the 17-man squad for Asia Cup was announced by the Selection Committee of the cricket board in the presence of media.

The Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB) Selection Committee Chief Nowruz Mangal said the national team squad for the Asia Cup includes 17 players with Munir Ahmad Kakar being a new player.

Mangal further added that the national team squad include Mohammad Shahzad Mohammadi (wicket keeper), Moahmmad Jawid Ahmadi, Ihsanullah Janat, Rahmat Shah Zurmati, Asghar Afghan (Captain), Hashmatullah Shahid, Najibullah Zadran, and Samiullah Shenwari.

Munir Ahmad Kakar (wicket keeper), Mohammad Nabi Esa Khel, Gulbudin Naib, Rashid Khan, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Mujeeb Ur Rehman, Aftab Alam, Syed Ahmad Shirzd, and Wafadar’s names are also included in the squad.

The Chief Selector of the Afghan also expressed hopes that the Afghan team would not only play will in the Asia Cup but he is hopeful that the Afghan players will have major achievements in the tournament.