The automatic qualifiers for the Super 12 stage of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 have been confirmed, following West Indies’ loss to Australia in their final match of this year’s edition.

The 12 teams that made the Super 12 this year – eight will go straight through to the Super 12.

Those eight teams are hosts Australia, England, India, Pakistan, New Zealand, South Africa, Afghanistan, and Bangladesh.

On Saturday, the teams that will fill those spots were confirmed courtesy of West Indies’ loss to Australia, which means they will sit 10th by the cut-off date, with Bangladesh climbing to eighth.

Going into Saturday’s action, the current top six teams on the rankings – England, Pakistan, India, New Zealand, South Africa, Australia – had already done enough to ensure they would not slide out of those positions this tournament

Afghanistan, the team sitting seventh, cannot drop below the 8th spot irrespective of future results in this tournament.