Thursday, July 25, 2024

15 EU countries to take 40,000 Afghan refugees in

Immigration News

Najibullah Lalzoy
Najibullah Lalzoy
Najibullah Lalzoy is a journalist and editor at Khaama Press. He has a BA degree in journalism.

Commissioner of home affairs of the European Union Ylva Johansson said that 15 member countries of the union have decided to resettle 40,000 Afghan refugees.

Speaking on Thursday after meeting interior ministers of the countries, Ylva Johansson said that this is impressive solidarity and the more controlled way of resettling Afghans will prevent irregular immigration of these people.

As per statistics, Germany will host 25,000 Afghans, the Netherlands 3,159, Spain and France 2,500 each, and the rest of the countries in lower number.

It comes as tens of thousands of Afghans mostly youths are taking dangerous ways to get to Europe through Iran and Turkey that often leading to the deaths of these asylum seekers.

There are now an estimated 85,000 Afghans who have gotten closer to the European borders and approximately the same number are waiting to find a way to get out of the country after the Taliban’s takeover on 15 August.

Earlier, United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) has asked the EU to accept 42,500 Afghans over five years but the request was resisted by the countries.

- Advertisement -

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
Captcha verification failed!
CAPTCHA user score failed. Please contact us!

- Advertisement -

The World News